What does Story Doctor mean?

Rapunzel in “Tangled” a Walt Disney Animation had a dream. She was young, fair, innocent, and rather naive, but she saw the lanterns and dreamed big.

For the rest of us, we live in reality–a world of pre-packaged food, hurried schedules, too many demands, not enough expectations . . . the list goes on and on, but needless to say, our dreams stop.

For me, at age twenty-two, my dreams, hooked to chains, float closer to dead Jacob Marley than leap and run with Tiny Tim. Though this is leap day in leap year, there is very little leap in my dreams. Not only are they not happening, they are also not surviving. Houseplants potted in leached soil brown around the edges and almost disappear. So do dreams when stuck in a pot. Sickly little things.

Sometimes we may have something worth dying for, but what about something worth living for?

My dream is to earn a doctorate degree in stories. Writing? Reading? Teaching? Being a part of? Yes.

As far as how to get there, I stumbled across a creative blog today (see link below) where the author, Lindsay,  stuck with one topic per month for an entire year, ending today. Somehow, in her place, her situation in life, she was able to use twelve different topics, every day, to reach her dream. And she did. It reminded me of Julie and Julia.

So first parameter for me for reaching my lanterns in the sky is:

#1. It must be feasible for the place I am in right now–my season of life.

To be continued . . .

And do check out this blog. Great ideas!!

http://threehundredsixtysixdays.com/

2 thoughts on “What does Story Doctor mean?

  1. Thanks! Just saw this. Good luck with your quest! I learned you can do anything if you set your mind to it. Manageable steps to reaching your goal definitely helps, though. Follow your dreams. I did and I am so much happier for it 🙂

    -Lindsay (threehundredsixtysixdays.com)

    • Thanks, Lindsay, for the encouragement! I am not sure how you managed to complete a year, sticking with each month–I have a hard enough time keeping an idea going for a week. Little steps will help, though, and we’ll see where I end up. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

