The L’Amour I Never Knew

This blog’s title isn’t really fair. I am reading a book called, “Education of a Wandering Man,” by Louis L’Amour–one of his memoirs apparently.

I’d like to say I’ve read every one of his books, enjoyed them immensely, and I am a big fan of his works, but I can’t say that I am. In fact, I haven’t read any of them. So I can’t really say I have ever known him . . .

But I am loving his thoughts on education, and I would highly recommend his book. 🙂 It’s a great look at his journey to becoming a writer.

“We do not at present educate people to think but, rather, to have opinions, and that is something altogether different.” (L’Amour wrote this book in the late eighties. I wonder what he would think of American education now?)

“A writer’s brain is like a magician’s hat. If you’re going to get anything out of it, you have to put something in first.”

“As I have said elsewhere, and more than once, I believe adventure is nothing but a romantic name for trouble.”

“What people think of as adventure is something nobody in his right mind would seek out, and it becomes romantic only when one is safely at home.”

“Only one who has learned much can fully appreciate his ignorance.”

“If a person does not ideas, he had better not even think of becoming a writer.”

“It’s important to remember that we are writing about people. Ideas are important only as they affect people. And we are writing about emotion. A few people reason, but all people feel.”

” . . . anyone who attempts to write for western readers had better know, because they do. Having a variety of cactus growing where it is never found will disgust a reader and he will toss your book aside.”

“To write a story of the West, one must have more accurate knowledge than for any other writing I can think of, aside from some kinds of science fiction.”

“One does not, as some imagine, simply ‘dash off a western.’ ”

That is all the further I have gotten so far, but I think if L’Amour was still alive, we could have been good friends.

Many of his good friends–the books and books and books he read–are mine as well.

2 thoughts on “The L’Amour I Never Knew

    • Yes, I understand! I haven’t read any of his stories, and I am not exactly sure why! I love reading through his memoir, though. It’s clear and simple and intriguing, and I hope to read through some of his stories one of these days. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

