White on Strunk

Did you know William Strunk Jr. taught E. B. White at Cornell University? I didn’t before today.

Furthermore, did you know that Strunk wrote the original “The Elements of Style,” using it in his classroom as early as 1919? Nope. I didn’t know that either.

It wasn’t until 1957 that this little textbook became Strunk and White’s Elements of Style when White was commissioned to revise it for the general public.

Today it is the most well known, I would say, style guide. Even students who are not English majors have heard of it.

I guess I am about to discover why.

Oh, and for the record, it is the fourth book on my “To Read” list! YAH! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

